TOW: Dealing With Difficult Conversations

Dealing with difficult conversations is something that many times most of us dread, but matters where a difficult conversation is needed cannot be ignored. I learned that my conflict resolution style is competition, which I both agree and disagree with. I find in my personal relationships I definitely go into a difficult conversation wanting the win, but with my peers I believe that I  am more likely to collaborate or accommodate. I think it depends on who I am dealing with, which can also be a negative thing. When in difficult conversations we cannot let our emotions get the best of us, even if the other person has already lost their cool. If someone attacks me, I must instead come back with an attack on the initial problem.  I very much enjoyed the “Stepping Out” portion of this course because it allowed me to practice dealing with difficult conversations on different scales.

I liked how the course not only gave me the knowledge of giving the correct responses to an employee, but also assisted me with the things  that you should not say. It can be difficult to not get aggravated in certain conversations, but that is where the importance of having a plan comes into place. You must make sure to have a goal for the final outcome of your discussion so you do not pile on other topics or get sidetracked. Finally, you should end the difficult conversation by recapping what was said so no negative misconceptions are construed.  You want to make sure that there is no confusion and that both of you are focused on the future ahead. Ultimately, the problem should be solved while maintaining the same amount respect for one another. The only aspect of the course that I wish I received more information about was the conflict resolution portion. I am curious to know how different people and situations can possibly change the outcome of how you proceed to resolve a conflict.

