TOW: Twitter Chat

Tonight I participated in a Twitter chat using the hashtag #blogchat. First created in 2009 and run by @mackcollier, #blogchat is a weekly conversation that takes place every Sunday night starting at 8pm Central, on Twitter.  Each week #BlogChat discusses a different blogging topic. However, I noticed that there actually seemed to be a few popular topics being discussed, the biggest one being on blogging influence. Pinterest and its shady copyright laws was also another very popular topic that I saw. Tonight’ts chat was actually very informing and I learned quite a bit, especially after going through the transcript online at http://beta.hashtracking.com/ht-pro-rpt/mackcollier-blogchat-2012-03-04/ 

I was very surprised to see how many people actually participated. In total, there were over 3,200 tweets and 3.6 million impressions, one of the hashtag’s most popular chats to date. Twitter chat is a great way to communicate with other PR professionals. It can assist you with building a bigger network and can be a good source when wanting to acquire some new tips and information on the field. For example, blogs are very much a part of the public relations world, and if you don’t know much about them, then joining in on the conversation using #blogchat would be very beneficial to you. Through this process of participating in a conversation, I even managed to  add a few new followers to my list. I really would love to know more about getting involved in these chats and how to do them in the most successful way possible, and since I actually enjoyed conversing with others on emerging topics, I plan to get more practice with it in the near future.

