Kony 2012 by Becky Zaiss

After watching the Stop Kony video, there were so many things running through my mind. The first is, if nothing else, the world should recognize and appreciate what one person was able to accomplish with social media. Getting that many views was impressive to say the least. Social media has been able to link our world in so many ways, why not use it to promote such a worthy cause? Another aspect of this video that I enjoyed was seeing how young people in America can made such a difference in the world. We are able to not only stand up for what we believe in, but take action as well.

I did have a few issues with the film however. One was why it was so self-indulgent? I think that there was just a little too much emphasis on Russell’s own child. My only other issue with the film is the timeliness of it. This video would have been so much more significant a number of years ago. It does frustrate me that so many people are willing to retweet something for activism they saw from this film, yet no one has mentioned how ironic it is that we have taken such a vast interest in this, and left Syria in the cold. I think it is great so many people want to stop Kony, I just do not want the world to forget there are still horrific problems elsewhere.

Click to go to Becky’s blog.

Image via 

